Wayne America

Wayne High Class of 2017 officially says goodbyes

Co-Valedictorians for the Class of 2017 at Wayne High School were (from left) Morgan Barner, Gabrielle Lutt, Hannah Belt, Marta Pulfer, Melinda Longe, Daniel Greenwald, Emily Matthes and Ameilia Blaneknau. (Photo copyright Mikey C Productions)

Click here to purchase photos of the Wayne High School Class of 2017 graduation
at our Mikey C Productions photo shop.

A picture-perfect afternoon and a nearly-full Rice Auditorium greeted the 76 members of the Wayne High School Class of 2017 as they took the ceremonial walk to receive their high school diplomas Saturday at Wayne State College.

Retiring Wayne High English teacher Sylvia Ruhl and her husband, Rocky – longtime coach, athletic director and junior high principal – were selected by the seniors to give this year’s graduation address. The couple thanked each of the 76 seniors in attendance by pointing out one of their positive contributions to the school. (Photo copyright Mikey C Productions)

The program started with the presentation of honors by school counselor Melody Hill, which included recognition of the senior members of the Wayne High School National Honor Society and recognition of graduate Steven Keiser, who will leave Wednesday to begin basic training before serving in the National Guard. National Honor Society members recognized were William Anderson, Morgan Barner, Hannah Belt, Rylee Bessmer, Amelia Blankenau, Kelsey Boyer, Tanner DeBoer, Allison Echtenkamp, Taylor Gamble, Ashten Gibson, Kiara Hochstein, Brittney Hunke, Caitlin Janke, Felicity Jech, Morgan Keating, Steven Keiser, Caden Korth, Shanda Lambert, Melinda Longe, Cara Lubberstedt, Gabrielle Lutt, Tyler Lutt, Emily Matthes, Tucker Nichols, Marta Pulfer, Lindy Sandoz and Brenna Vovos.

This year, eight members of the senior class finished their school careers with 4.0 grade-point averages, so they teamed up to deliver a special valedictorian address that centered around the word “diverse.” Marta Pulfer – who earned a perfect score of 36 on her ACT exam earlier this school year – started the address with an explanation of how the word could best describe the class. Following her were speeches centered around the letters that spell the word, with fellow co-valedictorians Morgan Barner, Hannah Belt, Amelia Blankenau, Daniel Greenwald, Melinda Longe, Gabrielle Lutt and Emily Matthes making presentations.

After the choir’s performance of “Things That Never Die,” retiring school staff members were recognized by Wayne High School principal Mark Hanson. Those recognized included Sue Buryanek, Darlene Lillenkamp, Annette Rasmussen, Sylvia Ruhl and Rocky Ruhl.

This year’s address was given by Sylvia and Rocky Ruhl. The coupled have a combined 63 years of experience in the Wayne Community Schools system. Mrs. Ruhl served as an English teacher while Mr. Ruhl was a math teacher and was also cross country and boys basketball coach for many years while also serving as athletic director and junior high principal. The couple wanted to thank the graduating students by saluting each of them individually with a positive trait each had that they brought to the school during their years as a student.

Retiring business teacher Annette Rasmussen gets a hug from principal Mark Hanson after receiving an honor as one of five longtime Wayne Community Schools staff members who are retiring at the end of this year. Also retiring are Sue Buryanek, Darlene Lillenkamp, Sylvia Ruhl and Rocky Ruhl. (Photo copyright Mikey C Productions)

The Wayne High School Class of 2017 includes:
– William Mark Anderson
– Morgan Marie Barner
– Claire Elizabeth Barnes
– Joseph Matthew Bart
– Darian Patrick Bell
– Hannah Jean Belt
– Adam Michael Bentjen
– Rylee Ben Bessmer
– Amelia Blankenau
– Kelsey Kimes Boyer
– Colton James Broer
– Olga Victoria Cabrales-Hernandez
– Emily Ann Claussen
– Talesha Lynn Conner
– Tanner Dain DeBoer
– Megan Renee Duncan
– Allison Jo Echtenkamp
– Lathan Michael Ellis
– Jennifer Espino-Velazquez
– Ronald James Forney
– Matthew Daniel Frevert
– Payten Larry Gamble
– Taylor Jean Gamble
– Ashten Holly Gibson
– Taylor Marie Granquist
– Daniel Neal Greenwald
– Ty James Grone
– Emil Henrik Hapanowitz
– Brady Daniel Henderson
– Devan Robert Damon Henschke
– Kiara Rose Hochstein
– Seth Robert Hochstein
– Brittney Ann Hunke
– Caitlin Grace Janke
– Felicity Cherie Jech
– Jessica Lorena Kaus
– Morgan Anne Keating
– Steven Raymond Keiser
– Kortney Coriene Keller
– Vincent Michael Kniesche
– Caden Patrick Korth
– Shanda Jae Lambert
– Maria Elizabeth Lenihan
– Robert Joseph Jay Liska
– Lucas Arlen Longe
– Melinda Mae Longe
– Cara Lee Lubberstedt
– Gabrielle Elizabeth Lutt
– Tyler Jeffrey Lutt
– Emily Nicole Matthes
– Grayson Anthony McBride
– Carla Alexander Mejia Rivera
– Tristan Joseph Miller
– Logan Michael Milligan
– Isaiah Lee Muhs
– Marissa Marie Munsell
– Carissa Marie Navrkal
– Ellie Marie Navrkal
– Tucker Scott Nichols
– Sydnie Renee Niemann
– Tyler Anton Pecena
– Jacob Michael Powell
– Marta Ruth Pulfer
– Michael James Reyes
– Alma Dulce Reyes-Reyes
– Garret Michael Reynolds
– Nolan Michael Reynolds
– Lindsey Marie Roberts
– Christian Keith Rogers
– Lindy Marie Sandoz
– Sierra Mariah Scardino
– Gage Thomas Schultz
– Jacqueline Marie Sherman
– Morgan Marie Sievers
– Cammi Renae Sims
– Morgan Leigh Swanson
– Jose Juan Vaca
– Apichaya Vongsamitgul
– Brenna Lynn Vovos



, , , , ,