Wayne America

Four seeking Wayne mayor’s seat this November

Thursday was the deadline for Wayne residents to file for election to local and county boards, and a four-person race has shaped up for the race to see who the next mayor of Wayne will be.

Two-term mayor Ken Chamberlain announced late in 2017 that he was not seeking a third term, ending his 12 years of service with the city. He had served as a representative of Ward Four on the Wayne City Council before being elected as mayor in 2010 and again in 2014.

Four candidates — all of whom have previous experience in city government — have applied to take over for Chamberlain’s position when his term concludes at the end of November. Three are current or former Wayne City Council members, while one is chairman of the Wayne Planning Commission.

Current Ward Two Councilwoman Jennifer Sievers is one of the candidates for mayor. She was elected to her current position in 2016 and would have to appoint her replacement if she is elected the next mayor.

Like Sievers, current Ward Three Councilman Cale Giese is a candidate for the city’s top job. He was elected to the City Council in 2016 and would also have to appoint his replacement if elected. Both Sievers and Giese are up for re-election to the City Council in 2020.

Former City Councilman Doug Sturm is also a candidate for mayor, having filed late in the process. Sturm was a longtime member of the city governing body, having served for almost 20 years before leaving the board several years ago.

Pat Melena is the current chairman of the Wayne Planning Commission and was the first of the four candidates to apply for the mayor’s position.

The four candidates will be voted on in the primary election on Tuesday, May 15. The top two will advance to the general election on Tuesday, Nov. 6.

Two of the four current City Council representatives are running unopposed in this year’s election, as Ward Two representative Matthew Eischeid and Ward Three councilman Jason Karsky are the only candidates in their city wards. Current Ward One representative Rodney Greve will be challenged by Christopher Woehler, while Ward Four councilwoman Jill Brodersen will be challenged by Jessi Hansen. Those elections will be on the Nov. 6 ballot.

The Wayne Community Schools District 17 Board of Education has six candidates who will compete for three spots on the school board this November. All six are new candidates, as the current three members whose term expires this year — Dr. Jeryl Nelson, Dr. Carolyn Linster and Scott Hammer — chose not to seek re-election.

For a complete listing of all the local and Wayne County candidates running for office in 2018, click here.